FAQs from Ragen Chastain about Health At Every Size

Someone yesterday was a little put off that I asked them not to compliment me (or anyone) on weight loss when I (or they) haven’t said that I am (or they are) trying to lose weight. Unwanted encouragement to lose weight under the guise of concern is called concern trolling. It is a form of bullying. I didn’t say this to my friend, I just politely asked them what I stated above.

My friend then started rapid firing back at me so-called facts about weight loss being good for the heart.That may be true for some, but since I haven’t been examined by this person, I’m going to ignore this diagnosis. And they’re not a doctor. And doctors often get it wrong, especially when it comes to Black women (look it up.)

I’m not trying to shame my friend, I’m just trying to point out how prevalent the faulty weight shaming and concern trolling is, even amongst those of us who otherwise live healthy, large, and in charge!

Bottom line is, I can be big and still be healthy. I don’t have to be healthy if I don’t want to. I don’t have to accept unwanted concern. As Ragen Chastain has said so well, I am the boss of my own underpants! Click here to read the FAQs.

About Mohana

Belly dancer, activist, cooking enthusiast.

Posted on April 2, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

